ARC Review: The Book of David by Anonymous



The Book of DavidThe Book of David by Anonymous
Release Date: June 3 2014
Publisher: SimonPulse
Format: ARC
Pages: 270
Genre: Contemporary
Source: Publisher

Goodreads Synopsis:
His secret is his downfall. A riveting, first-person tale in the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky.
The author of this fictional diary began writing for a class assignment, but soon it became much more to him. As the star player of his high school football team, he faces a lot of pressure and expectation. Not to mention the secret that he’s harboring inside. The secret that could change everything.

And as David quickly learns, nothing stays secret forever.

His innermost thoughts and feelings are chronicled in the diary he left behind

My Thoughts:
This was fantastic, horrific, heartbreaking, and an emotional roller coaster. The one thing I love about these books is the brutal honesty that pours off the pages. The gut wrenching feelings that leave you emotionally drained. 

I felt so many different emotions that it is so hard to sift through them. I felt anger, helplessness, worry, fear, and love. Love from those who choose to love us for who we are instead of who they want us to be. There is nothing a child wants more in this world than for his parents to love him for who he is. Now who we are or who we become might not even be noticeable to ourselves until later but regardless of who we choose to love or be with does not define us as human beings. 

Being Gay or straight doesn't make someone a bad person and why should those who are Gay be subjected to the harshness of others just because they do not understand that it is, in fact, ok to love someone of the same sex. To those people who hate and show anger towards people who are Gay should be ashamed. You are very well entitled to your opinion's but for crying out loud keep it to yourself.

The Book of David isn't really a book that I can say I loved or didn't. I am thrilled to have been able to share the experiences of this poor boy. I am happy that he was able to get through it as best he could and I am so thrilled that he didn't let all of those hateful people define him. I think it took courage for him to stand up to his family and I know that he will be happier now that he no longer has to hide who he really is.

Share this:

JOIN CONVERSATION

2 comments:

  1. What an amazing book and a great review, Kristen!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web
    site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account
    your blog posts. Any way I'll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.


    Stop by my blog post - KenWood Kmix

    ReplyDelete