Thursday, May 21, 2015

Blog Tour: Entangled Danielle Younge-Ullman and Shannon Duffy Guest Post and Review



Shannon Duffy:
blog-tour_entangled-2015_shannon           1: Where did the concept for your book come from?
From not being able to sleep one night. Tossing and turning for hours is annoying, but it
got me to thinking about how awesome it would be to have a dream machine that would lull
you to sleep. I also used to have night terrors so the idea of only having pleasant
dreams produced for you seemed pretty amazing too. Somebody needs to make a (non
brainwashing) Dreamscape stat. LOL
              #2: Who was your most favorite character to write? 
Hmm maybe Darian. Maybe he’s my favorite because as a female myself, it’s more
challenging to get into the head of a guy and have it come off as authentic. I love his
personality and how he treats Desiree. I really enjoyed the scenes with him in them. I
hope the readers do too. 
            #3: Do you have any special quirks while you write? Certain music you listen to? 
Well,~I need silence and no interruptions. Writers tend to like different things while
writing for sure, but it always amazes me when people can write with music on. For me, it
would be like having the radio on while watching a movie. That would definitely be way
too distracting for me. I need to zone out with a coffee and let the words flow and the
images come to life in my overactive brain. 
         #4: What was your favorite book growing up? 
Sooo many! I read like crazy. Anne of Green Gables and mysteries of all kinds and
anything fantasy or paranormal. I loved how good books could draw me in as though I was a
sucked into the story—I still love that!

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Monday, May 4, 2015

ARC Review: The Zodiac Legacy: Convergence by Stan Lee & Stuart Moore

The Zodiac Legacy: Convergence (Zodiac, #1)Art by: Andie Tong
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy, Superheroes, Adventure, Mythology
Release Date:  January 27, 2015
Publisher: Disney Press
Format: Paperback            Pages: 480
Series: Zodiac #1    
Source: Kristen @ My Bookish Fairytale

Goodreads Synopsis:

Stan Lee presents a brand new, magical, super-powered adventure!

Friday, May 1, 2015

ARC Review: Scarlett Undercover by Jennifer Latham

Scarlett UndercoverGenre: YA Contemporary, Mystery, Paranormal, Thriller
Release Date: May 19, 2015
Publisher: Little Brown
Format: Paperback     Pages: 320
Source: Publisher

Goodreads Synopsis:

A voice-driven mystery perfect for fans of Veronica Mars.
Meet Scarlett, a smart, sarcastic, kick-butt, Muslim American heroine, ready to take on crime in her hometown of Las Almas. When a new case finds the private eye caught up in a centuries-old battle of evil genies and ancient curses, Scarlett discovers that her own family secrets may have more to do with the situation than she thinks -- and that cracking the case could lead to solving her father's murder.
Jennifer Latham delivers a compelling story and a character to remember in this one-of-a-kind debut novel.

My Thoughts:

The Cover: The cover for this story is mysterious. Our protagonist looks over her shoulder at us from the dark street. She has a cocky, don't mess with me smile. I like the cover of Scarlett Undercover and definitely picked this book because of it.

The Plot:  This story rocks! While being 100% set in the YA genre, it had a great story line with enough action and drama to keep a mature audience on the edge of their seats and guessing. I whipped through this book in less than 48 hours, racing to solve the mystery.

Characters:  All our characters were very well written with lots of personality and flaws of their own. Scarlett and Decker were by far the cutest couple. I loved how they would do just about anything for each other. I also enjoyed Scarlett's thinking as she worked to solve the mystery and save the your children involved. I also loved Gemma. She tried really hard to by the tough girl, who could look after herself.

Is it Worth Reading?: Yes!! I really enjoyed reading this book, the mystery was a tough one that kept me wondering who was going to be the big baddie. I hope there will be more Scarlett books to come, but in the meantime I highly recommend Scarlett undercover and give it five out of five crossbows.


Tuesday, April 21, 2015

ARC Review: Lola Carlyle's 12 Step Romance by Danielle Younge Ulmam


Lola Carlyle's 12-Step RomanceLola Carlyle's 12 Step Romance by Danielle Younge Ullman
Release Date: May 5 2015
Format: ARC Paperback
Pages: 368
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: YA/ Contemporary
Source: Publisher

Goodreads Synopsis:
Lola Carlyle is lonely, out of sorts, and in for a boring summer. So when her best friend, Sydney, calls to rave about her stay at a posh Malibu rehab and reveals that the love of Lola’s life, Wade Miller, is being admitted, she knows what she has to do.Never mind that her worst addiction is decaf cappuccino; Lola is going to rehab.

Lola arrives at Sunrise Rehab intent solely on finding Wade, saving him from himself, and—naturally—making him fall in love with her…only to discover she’s actually expected to be an addict. And get treatment. And talk about her issues with her parents, and with herself. Plus she has insane roommates, and an irritatingly attractive mentor, Adam, who’s determined to thwart her at every turn. 

Oh, and Sydney? She’s gone.

Turns out, once her pride, her defenses, and her best friend are stripped away, Lola realizes she’s actually got a lot to overcome…if she can open her heart long enough to let it happen