Monday, May 4, 2015

ARC Review: The Zodiac Legacy: Convergence by Stan Lee & Stuart Moore

The Zodiac Legacy: Convergence (Zodiac, #1)Art by: Andie Tong
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy, Superheroes, Adventure, Mythology
Release Date:  January 27, 2015
Publisher: Disney Press
Format: Paperback            Pages: 480
Series: Zodiac #1    
Source: Kristen @ My Bookish Fairytale

Goodreads Synopsis:

Stan Lee presents a brand new, magical, super-powered adventure!

Friday, May 1, 2015

ARC Review: Scarlett Undercover by Jennifer Latham

Scarlett UndercoverGenre: YA Contemporary, Mystery, Paranormal, Thriller
Release Date: May 19, 2015
Publisher: Little Brown
Format: Paperback     Pages: 320
Source: Publisher

Goodreads Synopsis:

A voice-driven mystery perfect for fans of Veronica Mars.
Meet Scarlett, a smart, sarcastic, kick-butt, Muslim American heroine, ready to take on crime in her hometown of Las Almas. When a new case finds the private eye caught up in a centuries-old battle of evil genies and ancient curses, Scarlett discovers that her own family secrets may have more to do with the situation than she thinks -- and that cracking the case could lead to solving her father's murder.
Jennifer Latham delivers a compelling story and a character to remember in this one-of-a-kind debut novel.

My Thoughts:

The Cover: The cover for this story is mysterious. Our protagonist looks over her shoulder at us from the dark street. She has a cocky, don't mess with me smile. I like the cover of Scarlett Undercover and definitely picked this book because of it.

The Plot:  This story rocks! While being 100% set in the YA genre, it had a great story line with enough action and drama to keep a mature audience on the edge of their seats and guessing. I whipped through this book in less than 48 hours, racing to solve the mystery.

Characters:  All our characters were very well written with lots of personality and flaws of their own. Scarlett and Decker were by far the cutest couple. I loved how they would do just about anything for each other. I also enjoyed Scarlett's thinking as she worked to solve the mystery and save the your children involved. I also loved Gemma. She tried really hard to by the tough girl, who could look after herself.

Is it Worth Reading?: Yes!! I really enjoyed reading this book, the mystery was a tough one that kept me wondering who was going to be the big baddie. I hope there will be more Scarlett books to come, but in the meantime I highly recommend Scarlett undercover and give it five out of five crossbows.


Tuesday, April 21, 2015

ARC Review: Lola Carlyle's 12 Step Romance by Danielle Younge Ulmam


Lola Carlyle's 12-Step RomanceLola Carlyle's 12 Step Romance by Danielle Younge Ullman
Release Date: May 5 2015
Format: ARC Paperback
Pages: 368
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: YA/ Contemporary
Source: Publisher

Goodreads Synopsis:
Lola Carlyle is lonely, out of sorts, and in for a boring summer. So when her best friend, Sydney, calls to rave about her stay at a posh Malibu rehab and reveals that the love of Lola’s life, Wade Miller, is being admitted, she knows what she has to do.Never mind that her worst addiction is decaf cappuccino; Lola is going to rehab.

Lola arrives at Sunrise Rehab intent solely on finding Wade, saving him from himself, and—naturally—making him fall in love with her…only to discover she’s actually expected to be an addict. And get treatment. And talk about her issues with her parents, and with herself. Plus she has insane roommates, and an irritatingly attractive mentor, Adam, who’s determined to thwart her at every turn. 

Oh, and Sydney? She’s gone.

Turns out, once her pride, her defenses, and her best friend are stripped away, Lola realizes she’s actually got a lot to overcome…if she can open her heart long enough to let it happen

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

ARC Review: Kissing Ted Callahan ( and other guys) by Amy Spalding


Kissing Ted Callahan (and Other Guys)Kissing Ted Callahan ( and other guys) by Amy Spalding
Release Date: April 7 2015
Format: ARC Paperback
Pages:312
Publisher: Poppy
Genre: YA
Source: Publisher

Goodreads Synopsis:
Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist meets Easy A in this hilariously realistic story of sneaking out, making out, and playing in a band.

After catching their bandmates in a compromising position, sixteen-year-old Los Angelenos Riley and Reid become painfully aware of the romance missing from their own lives. And so a pact is formed: they'll both try to make something happen with their respective crushes and document the experiences in a shared notebook.

While Reid struggles with the moral dilemma of adopting a dog to win over someone's heart, Riley tries to make progress with Ted Callahan, who she's been obsessed with forever-His floppy hair! His undeniable intelligence! But suddenly cute guys are popping up everywhere. How did she never notice them before?! With their love lives going from 0 to 60 in the blink of an eye, Riley and Reid realize the results of their pact may be more than they bargained for

Saturday, April 11, 2015

Stacking The Shelves

As everyone already know's Stacking The Shelves is a weekly post to share all the awesome goodies that you've collected. Whether it be purchased, borrowed, or received to review, Stacking the Shelves is a great way for your readers to be introduced to new reads! Stacking the Shelves comes from Tynga over at Tynga's Reviews