Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)Genre: YA, science fiction, dystopia, paranormal
Release Date: June 17, 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Format: Paperback                     Pages: 304
Series: Dark Metropolis #1
Sources: Kristen @ My Bookish Fairytale

Goodreads Synopsis:

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.
Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.
Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.
Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.



My Thoughts: 

The Cover: What a mysterious cover! Dark colors, a pale girl looks over her shoulder. While I wouldn't say the cover sold me, it definitely looked interesting enough for me to check out the book.
The Plot:  While it took me a long time to actually get into this book, probably about 1/3 of the way through, once I was in, I was hooked. While I found things a little predictable, the story was definitely well written and interesting.

Characters: I loved our protagonists. Thea and Freddy were wonderfully written characters and it was easy to fall in love with these sweet kids. Freddy raised by “uncles”, doing what they told him was right and Thea, just trying to save her mom from the government. With the help of some great supporting characters (I love Nan and Sigi), they go on a quest to save the citizens of their city and right the wrongs done.

Is it Worth Reading?:  Yes. Although it was not my favorite, and I will not be re-reading it, it was an interesting take on a very controlling and manipulating government and readers of YA science fiction may enjoy it. I give Dark Metropolis 3/5 crossbows!

Share this:

JOIN CONVERSATION

    Blogger Comment

0 comments:

Post a Comment