ARC Review: Scarlett Undercover by Jennifer Latham

Scarlett UndercoverGenre: YA Contemporary, Mystery, Paranormal, Thriller
Release Date: May 19, 2015
Publisher: Little Brown
Format: Paperback     Pages: 320
Source: Publisher

Goodreads Synopsis:

A voice-driven mystery perfect for fans of Veronica Mars.
Meet Scarlett, a smart, sarcastic, kick-butt, Muslim American heroine, ready to take on crime in her hometown of Las Almas. When a new case finds the private eye caught up in a centuries-old battle of evil genies and ancient curses, Scarlett discovers that her own family secrets may have more to do with the situation than she thinks -- and that cracking the case could lead to solving her father's murder.
Jennifer Latham delivers a compelling story and a character to remember in this one-of-a-kind debut novel.

My Thoughts:

The Cover: The cover for this story is mysterious. Our protagonist looks over her shoulder at us from the dark street. She has a cocky, don't mess with me smile. I like the cover of Scarlett Undercover and definitely picked this book because of it.

The Plot:  This story rocks! While being 100% set in the YA genre, it had a great story line with enough action and drama to keep a mature audience on the edge of their seats and guessing. I whipped through this book in less than 48 hours, racing to solve the mystery.

Characters:  All our characters were very well written with lots of personality and flaws of their own. Scarlett and Decker were by far the cutest couple. I loved how they would do just about anything for each other. I also enjoyed Scarlett's thinking as she worked to solve the mystery and save the your children involved. I also loved Gemma. She tried really hard to by the tough girl, who could look after herself.

Is it Worth Reading?: Yes!! I really enjoyed reading this book, the mystery was a tough one that kept me wondering who was going to be the big baddie. I hope there will be more Scarlett books to come, but in the meantime I highly recommend Scarlett undercover and give it five out of five crossbows.


Share this:

JOIN CONVERSATION

    Blogger Comment

0 comments:

Post a Comment